Skip to content

Wonderful Blessings Or Heartbreaking Trials

November 8, 2017

“I want to live a cross-shaped life, a life that frees me from working to bolster my self-esteem through other people’s approval….I want to welcome whatever comes my way, whether wonderful blessings or heartbreaking trials, as ‘an opportunity for great joy,’ the opportunity to display the love of Jesus that advances others’ well-being at any cost to my own (see James 1:2). I want to live the abundant life of loving like Jesus, the truly good life, available to me and to you through the death of Jesus.”

Dr. Larry Crabb, A Different Kind of Happiness, Page 187

Questions for Reflection:
• Whose approval do you often seek to bolster your own self-esteem?
• In what way would living to display the love of Jesus change how you relate to that person?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

