Skip to content

The Real Battle—Between My Flesh And Spirit

December 30, 2015

“…Since the devil’s power has been stripped and since I have been born again out of this world’s kingdom into heaven’s, that means the real battle now is within me, between my own urge to grasp after whatever seems necessary and the desire to give, to love others like Jesus does – a desire Your Spirit has put in me. That gives a whole new meaning to spiritual warfare. I must still resist the devil and not conform myself to this world, but the real battle is going on in me, between my flesh and spirit. I want to win that battle.”

Dr. Larry Crabb, 66 Love Letters, Page 210

Questions for Reflection:
• In what areas during this past week have you been most aware of the battle between getting your own way and the willingness to love others well, even at your own expense?
• As you think of ways in which you’ve been self-centered this week, what were the hidden beliefs that fueled your choices?
• What thought processes moved you during the times you did love well?
• Ask the Holy Spirit to help you celebrate His grace both for the times you failed and the times you loved well, to make amends where needed and to deepen your desire to honor Him.

One Comment
  1. I was so aware of the Holy Spirit’s presence in having a challenging conversation at work. So grateful for Him!

Leave a Reply

