Skip to content

The Unmistakable Fruit Of Deep Repentance

February 25, 2015

“Forgiveness and involvement, the two elements in substantial change, are the unmistakable fruit of deep repentance.  When I  abandon my commitment to self-protection, seeing in it the rebellious pride that is really there, then I am able to forgive those who have interfered with the goal of self-protection and involve myself with those who may hurt me in the future. What I am calling ‘deep repentance,’ the kind that can support forgiveness and involvement, requires both the exposure of my pain and my commitment to self-protection and also a decisive willingness to abandon myself to obedient trust.”

Dr. Larry Crabb, Understanding People, Page 168

Questions for Reflection:
• Have you thought about forgiveness as fruit of repentance for your own sin, rather than simply a Biblical response to someone else’s sin?
• What would “overcoming evil with good” look like in a current conflict that you are facing, regardless of the other person’s choices?

One Comment
  1. Cynthia Calderman permalink

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”Larry Crabb’s NewWay Ministries Blog” Date:Wed, Feb 25, 2015 at 6:57 PM Subject:[New post] The Unmistakable Fruit Of Deep Repentance

    newwaymin posted: “”Forgiveness and involvement, the two elements in substantial change, are the unmistakable fruit of deep repentance.  When I  abandon my commitment to self-protection, seeing in it the rebellious pride that is really there, then I am able to forgive those”

Leave a Reply

