Skip to content

A Real Church Aims Toward…

December 26, 2012

“A real church never values participating in programs above relating in community. And it faces the disturbing truth that involvement in small groups too often amounts to little more than participation in a relational program. A real church aims toward spiritual community, where souls connect, where shame weakens, where sin surfaces, where failure meets grace, where irritations soften, where holy desire grows.”

Dr. Larry Crabb, Real Church, Page 152

Questions for Reflection:
When you hear about this kind of church, what scares you the most? What excites you the most?

5 Comments
  1. I love what you are saying about the “church”. I am the worship leader at a church in Hagerstown, MD and I don’t know why I am going every Sunday. I read your book on Real Church and loved it. I long to be in a close community of Christians. The closest I ever came to feeling the community you talk about is when I attended an AA meeting with my little brother. If that was my church, I would love it. I felt love like I never felt before in a group setting.

    • davidebert4 permalink

      I agree about AA. I went to AA after treatment as a teenager and have been sober now for 26 years. I have become disallutioned with going to church. I have always said if the church got what AA has with grace and fellowship we would see revival. I have not read your book yet but look forward to it.

  2. davidebert4 permalink

    I agree about AA. I went to AA after treatment as a teenager and have been sober now for 26 years. I have become disallutioned with going to church. I have always said if the church got what AA has with grace and fellowship we would see revival. I have not read your book yet but look forward it.

  3. Janet permalink

    In my past experiences with small groups I have been the one pouring my life out and then feel like others are trying to fix me. I have stopped going to them 😦

  4. Roger Perkins permalink

    I teach a model of micro-groups ( not more than three of the same gender) where no advice can be given (even if requested), we shame no one in the group and confession no one else’s sin, and everything is confidential. Also, the confessions are encouraged to be a five levels: actions, thoughts. emotions. inner attitudes (tend to lie buried) and root causes. The key to each person’s growth is practicing the contemplative life and meditating on Scripture rather than just reading or even studying it.

Leave a Reply

