Skip to content

When I Understand Acceptability and Accountability…

July 18, 2012

“I might mention in passing that my acceptability in Christ is no warrant for careless living. Scripture also teaches that I am accountable to God for how I live. If I understand accountability, but not acceptability, I will live under pressure to behave well in order to be accepted. If I understand acceptability, but not accountability, I may become casually indifferent to sinful living. When I understand first my acceptability and then my accountability, I will be constrained to please the One who died for me, fearful that I might grieve Him, not wanting to, because I love Him.”

Larry Crabb, Effective Biblical Counseling, Page 71

Questions for Reflection:
Is it more difficult for you to understand accountability or acceptability?
How does that play out in your life?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

