Skip to content

As The Blessings of Good Circumstances and Success and Personal Fulfillment Warm Our Lives…

May 9, 2012

“As the blessings of good circumstances and success and personal fulfillment warm our lives, we don’t realize they’re burning our souls to cinders with heat from hell.

“Pascal anticipated the parable of the boiling frogs four hundred years ago when he wrote, ‘When everything is moving at once, nothing appears to be moving, as on board ship. When everyone is moving toward depravity, no one appears to be moving. But when someone stops, he shows up the others by acting as a fixed point.'”

Dr. Larry Crabb, The Pressure’s Off, Page 184

Questions for Reflection:
What stirs in you as you read this?
Who have been the fixed points in your life? What was that like for you?

One Comment
  1. margaret Thomson permalink

    Just began reading The Pressure’s Off this week. It is just a confirmation of what God has been saying to me. I have lost many things along to get to where I am, all in my vain attempts at getting blessed ironically.St Paul said he counted all things as loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ. I am afraid I am one of those people who have chosen the blessings rather than knowing Jesus. My only hope is that God can put that in me: that desire to want him more than any position, any power, any thing. Oh how I need Jesus! Thank you so much for this book. I am glad I am not the only one who has realized how empty the life of blessings actually is. It has brought me to this place of emptiness and lack…how sad. You have encouraged me by showing me someone else actually understands my journey.
    God Bless you, Larry
    Margaret

Leave a Reply

