Skip to content

Struggling To Live By Faith, Or Living To Make Your Life Work?

January 25, 2012

“Know this: those who live by faith will struggle in ways that those who live to make their lives work will never know.  It is that struggle, to believe despite desperate pain and confusion that a good plan is unfolding, that will open your eyes to see Me more clearly.  Is that what you want?  Will you pay the price?

“The price is this: you will tremble in agony as you live in a sinful, self-prioritizing world.  You will learn to wait in emptiness and frustrated desire for My plan of love to reveal itself.  With confidence in Me and hope in My plan, you will not only feel the pain of living in the valley but also see My glory from the mountaintop of faith.

“Only those who struggle in confusion and wait in hope will be strengthened to struggle well and to wait with confidence.

“Struggle well!  Wait in hope!”

Larry Crabb, God’s Love Letters to You, Page 53

Questions for Reflection:
What does it mean to “struggle well”? To “wait in hope”?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Rosanne G permalink

    I think for me, right now, it means deliberately to be present in my life. It’s so much easier to be mulling over the past or rehearsing future scenarios than it is to attune my heart to God in this moment of pain or joy or confusion or decision. Struggling well requires me to be honest with God about my desperation and anger when I feel overwhelmed or betrayed, pouring out to Him both how I feel about what He’s allowing and how I long to move authentically past those feelings to surrender my heart to His plans.

    Galatians 4:19 points me to the lessons I learned in the births of my children and in providing labor support for a friend. When a contraction comes, you can either lean into it and move with it or you can stiffen up, resisting it. Fighting to control what’s happening increases your pain and delays the process of bringing forth life. Bearing down into the pressure without trying to push things to happen too soon allows that life within to move as he (He) needs to do in order to come forth. And when you feel you can’t bear any more, you need the timely encouragement of one who breathes along with you. When a companion speaks both the reminder of what’s at stake and the reality that you were created for this, it gives you the courage to endure until you see the face you’ve been longing to gaze upon for so long.

    I’m thankful for the words of life that my friend Jess from SSD 40 spoke to me this weekend. I may not have my second wind yet, but they’ve helped me keep breathing this week.

  2. It means to not give up. Thanks for the encouragement. Sounds like a good book!

Leave a Reply

