Skip to content

One Measure of Our Love for God Is Whether We Obey Him. But…

December 14, 2011

“One measure of our love for God is whether we obey Him.  But I don’t love other people by obeying them.  I may do what they want (for example, I took dance lessons with Rachael), but I don’t think of it as obedience.  It makes me wonder–is my love for God more like driving  the speed limit when I spot a cop behind me?  I don’t like the thought.”

Larry Crabb, The PAPA Prayer, Page 143

Questions for Reflection:
How do you relate to this thought?
Why is obedience a measure of our love for God?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. sheryl tunnicliffe permalink

    I know what you mean. Lately, i have just been coming to God – not really knowing if i ‘love’ Him but coming anyway. I have found it more liberating to own up to my not knowing. Obedience has been a loaded term for me through most of my adult life, but i do like God somewhat and i find that i am looking for a way to be thankful. That is what obedience looks like for me. A vehicle to express gratitude.

Leave a Reply

