Skip to content

I Wager No Child Ever Looked Into Santa’s Eyes and Said…

December 7, 2011

“We want the blessings of a better life more than we desire to draw near to Jesus.  We approach Him the way a child approaches a weary Santa Claus in the mall, who for the hundredth time asks, ‘What do you want for Christmas?’  I wager no child has ever pressed close to Santa’s chest, looked up into his eyes, and said, ‘You! I want only You.'”

Larry Crabb, The Pressure’s Off, Page 77

Question for Reflection:
What things do you ask for instead of nearness to God?

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Great quote!! Leaves quite an impression on one’s mind!

  2. I read this book for the 2nd time and am in tears once again. My circumstances have brought a pain that is so big it is like a wall I cannot see over. And I do cry to the Father, why don’t you do something? It is so hard to wrap my mind and heart around NOT wanting to be rescued as the most important thing in my life. I have always wanted to experience God, to be near to God and my Christian experience to use the law of linierity to get there is a hard one to wash out of my memory. Thank you for this book. I pray that the message is not lost on me.

  3. And yet here in that simple request is the key to revival, not only in our personal lives, but in our families, our relationships, our churches, our communities and our world. The desire for only God is to be carefully and lovingly nurtured to drown out all other desires. The glaring contrast is all around us in the (dare I say it) diabolically contrived campaign through Madison Avenue aimed at our cravings for more flashier stuff to anesthetize the deep hunger of our soul. The remedy? A sacred pause in silent expectation, a subtle but deliberate shift in our thinking, blowing on the embers of our soul, and watching them glow again with the fire to know HIM better.

  4. Rosanne G permalink

    I’ve been pondering this thought a great deal in the past couple weeks, particularly as I watch my children anticipate Christmas. One thing that occurred to me is that “Santa” doesn’t really make himself accessible to being known. The stories always make a point of how hard it is to catch him in the act of leaving the gifts. My kids don’t really believe in Santa, but their whole context of thinking of him is as “the goody-giver.”

    Their relationship with me is a whole different deal. Although I am constantly (both visibly and beyond their awareness) working to meet their needs, they do see me as more than a conduit of provision because they know I want to be with them. While they are certainly whiny and demanding at times, it’s also a common occurrence for them to snuggle up next to me and, when asked what they need, to cuddle closer, responding: “I need some Mommy-time.” Could it be that this is a picture of just one of the reasons the incarnation was necessary? So that God could be revealed relationally?

    I have a couple of Christian friends who are really angry with God right now as they are going through difficult situations in which they feel like He’s not come through for them. As I attempted to ask questions that would direct them to Christ as the evidence of God’s heart for them, their response seemed to indicate a image of God that is remote, unfeeling, impervious to pain. When I asked what first drew them to Jesus, their stories were very different but their answers were strikingly similar: a Christian had presented Jesus to them as the answer to all of their problems. For me, He was presented as the “GET OUT OF HELL FREE” card. It was a transaction, not an invitation to know and be known.

    Although our self-centeredness is always going to make a demanding heart an issue we have to deal with, I wonder how things might be different if we presented Christ to people more as Jesus did. Honestly, some of the stuff He said would never be considered good PR! But with all of the emphatic statements Jesus made about dying to self and persecution, etc, His invitation was always to a relationship. And ultimately, His friends would love Him enough to die violently for His sake. But I think that was only because He was their Beloved.

Leave a Reply

